Close Your Yahoo Account – You can close your Yahoo account at any time. Before doing so, please review the following info to understand what this action means for your account and your data.
What happens when my account is terminated after it’s closed?
See the section at the bottom of this page for more information on what will happen after you delete your Yahoo email address and account.
Close Your Yahoo Account
Closing your Yahoo account will not cancel automatic charges associated with your account. Once you close your Yahoo Mail account, anyone who tries to send a message to the email address will immediately receive a delivery failure message.
To avoid confusion and concern, be sure you tell your friends and contacts that you are about to close your Yahoo Mail account both from the email address you plan to use in the future (so they can easily reply to reach you) and from your Yahoo Mail address (to make sure the message is received).
You’ll also lose access to all of your data and content like your emails, email folders, Flickr photos, calendars, Yahoo Fantasy teams and Yahoo Finance portfolios.
In just a few steps, you can shut down your entire Yahoo Mail account and revoke access to your email address, remove all your emails, and prevent people from messaging you.
What Does It Mean to Delete a Yahoo Mail Account?
Deleting a Yahoo Mail account means not only that your emails will be removed and you’ll lose access to your account, but you’ll also no longer have access to your My Yahoo settings, your Flickr account and photos, and other data stored in Yahoo’s services.
If you’re paying for any Yahoo subscription services, remember to cancel these subscriptions first to avoid unexpected payments. The same is true if you have a Flickr Pro membership.
Steps on How to Delete Your Yahoo Mail Account
Step1. Open Yahoo’s “delete user” page and enter your username. Click Next
Step2. Enter your password. If you have an Account Key set up, Yahoo will send a message to your mobile phone to authenticate you.
Step3. Read the text on the page titled “Before continuing, please consider the following information.” It details what you will lose when you delete your Yahoo Mail account. Click or tap the Continue button.
Step4. Enter your email address once more into the field provided.
Step4. Select Yes, terminate this account.
Step5. You’ll know it worked if you see a message that reads “Your account has been deactivated and scheduled for deletion.”
Step6. Click or tap the Sounds good button to return to Yahoo’s homepage.
Note;In some cases, Yahoo won’t actually remove everything for up to 180 days, but that depends largely on the country you signed up from. Data connected to a Yahoo Finance Premium account might be kept for three calendar years.